Making Peace with the Time Change

Got to be the time change. Light depravation. Made me a bit crazy the past few weeks.

Hate that it was dark at 4:30 today.

Hate that I’ve been sniveling and whiny- a maudlin mess the past few weeks.

Hate that I wimped out and canceled our riding lesson.

Okay, I’m not all that sorry about the riding lesson. I really didn’t want to mess with the trailer in the dark in the rain after getting the trailer stuck in the mud a few weeks ago. And the truth is, I’m not sure I can learn without practice time.  I should have stopped the lessons a few weeks ago before the time change.

I’ve been second guessing myself of late about everything thing. My riding ability is just one of a list of many.

But it surfaces more vehemently because it’s important to me. And it’s not really about riding; it’s about being a partner with another being. To flow together in a single purpose with grace and selflessness is akin to reaching nirvana. I want to feel that continuous motion of mind and body.

Watching the professionals do it is deceiving. It looks easy.

But the reality of achieving it is different.

It’s hard.

It takes muscle, guts, skill, and softness. You must communicate with a creature whose consciousness is unlike your own.

The horse has its own mind; its own desire. One that likely doesn’t involve rocking horse loping or lead changes. Someone told me a while ago, “The horse just wants to be left alone to eat and sleep.”

Our human will keeps them from that. We interfere with their instincts.

And yet, we bond with our equine partners. We find ways to connect. When it happens, it’s like nothing else in the world.

I have felt brief flashes of it with Jigs. More than any other horse I’ve lived with. It’s addictive, you want more.

I think taking a break from the lesson tonight was good for both of us. I got to fuss over him. And we got to hang with no pressure to push or perform.

The dark doesn’t really matter when it is just two friends hanging out after work, watching the light drizzle fall lazily through the night.


Explore posts in the same categories: Family, horses, Living in the moment, respnsiable horse ownership, Responsible horse ownership, trail riding

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Making Peace with the Time Change”


  1. I hate to admit this but sometimes I’d rather not ride if I’m not in the mood. I’d rather hang out and play with the horses and groom them. This time change is a pain but we’ll have to work through it until we’re used to the difference.


Leave a Reply

