A New Season

Summer’s over.

It was not the Summer I expected and I’m glad it is over.

I didn’t ride as much as past summers and as a result, someone at the barn joked Jigs is “getting fat”.

He’s not, but it is true he’s not as fit as past years. Work kept me from riding in the evening. My dad was in the nursing home and died in August. I am still shell shocked.

And now it is autumn.

Last weekend Jigs and I did a hunter pace in Douglas State Forest. We did well, even going over some small jumps bumps. (Jigs and I have a no jumping rule). With our partners (human and equine), we finished in 4th place, 10 minutes ahead of the ideal pace (ok, it was in the slowest division). Jigs was exhausted when we were done. I’d ask for a canter and the response was, “I don’t want to.” It took lots of leg to change his mind.

Yesterday we did the Tyrone Farm Judged Pleasure ride. I didn’t know what to expect. Two of the obstacles were similar to the ones we do in versatility- dismount/mount and pickup up and move a cup. The other two were not. One was a step down jump- 3 feet. We chickened out and stepped off the side (2 feet).  The other obstacle was to canter a figure 8 downhill in an open field, stopping between loops. Jigs and I managed it breaking gait once and missing the one of the stops. He got his leads correct though!

It was good enough for third place in our division.

It was a glorious: nine miles for soft trails across beautiful landscape.

Tyrone FarnfieldIn the woods

Autumn is the best time to ride in New England. It’s cooler. The bugs are gone. And the trees are starting to turn.  It’s time to get Jigs back into peak form.

Explore posts in the same categories: Family, Living in the moment, trail riding, Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

