Dawn

This last morning of 2023, I await the suns return. Already dark is graying; it is only minutes to sunrise.

December has been warm and watery. Trails are muddy. Jigs detests the footing. Riding has been limited, partly out of respect for Jigs’ age and for the trails themselves. Best to let both recover from the rain.

2023 has been a year of transition. My job of 32 plus years was eliminated. Rather than find a filler job to get me to full social security, I made the decision to retire.

Most of my adult life was consumed by work. I got caught in the web of the job is who I am. But when it was gone, I realized it was not.

Years of shuffling papers on a desk, typing into a computer, orchestrating others. This world gallops forward, there is no legacy in hoofprints. Nothing of significance is left behind except the people. I slipped away with little acknowledgement I was ever there.

Losing my job was in a way, a gift. I rode and played with the pony through Summer and Autumn. I walked miles, alone in the woods.  I discovered my old poems and wrote new ones.

I found a path patiently waiting for me to return and stepped forward into daylight.

Explore posts in the same categories: retirement, Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a comment