Learning to Ride in the Snow

Several years ago, I had a panic attack in the middle of a snow ride with a large group of friends.   When their horses exuberantly took off at a gallop through the wonderful snow-covered footing, I panicked and stopped Jigs from going, afraid he would buck or fall or bolt. It wasn’t rational. I can ride out a buck and a gallop. But at that moment I couldn’t.

I feel the same panic when I think a car is going to pull out in front of me or when there is an unexpected noise. I slam on the brakes, pull back the reins, jump in place. My body is constantly on high alert and my nervous system triggers without conscious thought.

That day, I let my friends continue their ride and Jigs and I went home a different way. I stopped riding in large groups. I even considered giving up riding all together.

Horses in a group are a herd and their instinct is to stay with their buddies. My intellectual brain knows that. My nervous system does not.

I spent a few years working on my fears, not just related to riding, but life in general.  I learned exercises through therapy that slow my reactions. I took riding lessons to improve my seat, especially at the canter. I read books, like Crissy McDonald’s Continuing the Ride (https://www.amazon.com/Continuing-Ride-Rebuilding-Confidence-Ground/dp/1732825831), that helped me understand the brain and fear. I am on a journey to fill in my gaps, become a better rider for Jigs.

At 66 I don’t bounce like I did when I was younger.

This week I went on another snow ride. I chose again not to gallop off with the herd and despite Jigs’ desire to go, he stayed with me, albeit protesting a bit. We eventually caught up with our friends.

When we did canter off in the soft footing, I sat through an exuberant buck and we cantered some more. He is a horse after all and entitled to fun in the snow!

But this time I see it differently. He stayed with me, took care of me, and let me release my moment of fear.

What a wonderful pony and good friends I have. I am blessed.

Explore posts in the same categories: #besthorseintheworld, #smartesthorseintheworld, aging, Aging horseback rider, Living in the moment, Responsible horse ownership, retirement, trail riding, Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a comment