February

What a difference a year makes. Just because that is cliché doesn’t mean it is not true.

Last February at this time, like many of my co-workers, I was stressed about the upcoming round of “reorgs” spinning in the rumor mill.  Every February, this annual event disrupted my head, my stomach, my sleep, my focus. For years, I made it to the other side.

Then last year I didn’t.

At 65, for the first time since I was a teenager, I was without a job. Dreading starting over again in a world created for youth and short term thinking, I decided to take the hit and retire early, despite being months from full retirement age.

It turned out to be the right decision.

This February is just another month, albeit with less days.  My blood pressure is normal. I sleep, I eat well. I walk nearly every day. Dark winter afternoons don’t prevent me from riding.

In two months, Jigs and I have traveled 103 trail miles. Last year at this time, we only had 21; the year before, 27.

Our lifetime tracked miles are 3,731, 269 from 4,000! Fingers crossed we both stay healthy. If we do, we will crush that!

Yes, a year can make a huge difference.

Explore posts in the same categories: #besthorseintheworld, #smartesthorseintheworld, aging, Aging horseback rider, besthorseintheworld, Family, horses, Living in the moment, mountain trail challeng, Responsible horse ownership, retirement, sorting memories, trail riding, Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “February”

  1. Avery Says:

    I love all of this ❤ you are living life now!


Leave a comment