March Walk

60 degrees at the beginning of March! Blue sky after gray rain.

I took Jigs on my daily walk.

Three miles walking strengthens partnership. Yes, I could have ridden but our usual trails are muddy from the crazy rain, and it felt good to be beside him for a change.

So, we headed down the street in a different direction than our usual route. My plan was to cut through the old pine grove, where we used to ride, to avoid backtracking.

Good idea that lacked execution; I took a wrong turn.  I would say we got lost, but I suspect the red pony knew exactly where we were as he dramatically sighed a few times.  The old trail was broken, and we had to bushwack to the highway to find where it picked up again. I knew these trails before loggers destroyed them. The local land trust is working to restore them.

Downed trees, mud, a brook, big trucks- Jigs didn’t hesitate. Trusty trail pony he is.

On the way back we ran into a horse and buggy. Jigs got snorty. Did he think it was Spoc? I let them go ahead of us; he wanted to follow them when we turned toward our barn. Silly boy.

We were sweating by the time we got back. Okay, maybe me more than him. He is starting to let go of winter, but his coat is still thick; he was warm- honest…

Explore posts in the same categories: #besthorseintheworld, #smartesthorseintheworld, aging, Aging horseback rider, besthorseintheworld, Family, horses, Living in the moment, mountain trail challeng, Responsible horse ownership, retirement, trail riding, Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a comment