If Wishes Were Horses….

Last week, I purchased a 15-minute reading at a psychic fair. Closer to 70 than 60, I figure knowing the future is somewhat irrelevant, but it was for fun and to support a local business. 

The reader, who was younger than my daughters, told me my wish would come true in June or possibly October. I laughed and told her I hadn’t wished for anything.

“Not even when you blew out your birthday candles?” she asked.

“Nope. No birthday cake for me.”  After awkward silence, I added “wishes are dangerous. Maybe they come true, but not as you expect… like the monkey’s paw.”

She turned over another card to change the subject.

The concept of a granted wish has rattled around my head since. What would I wish for?

World peace? But at what cost? Realistically, that likely would require a world without humans.

Live forever? I think of Sybil who asked Apollo for immortality but forgot to include eternal youth.  

Immortality is overrated, but maybe fewer age-related aches and pains?

Should I wish for a new house with land for the pony and a friend for him? This close to 70, that could be a challenge. Who would help with the upkeep? I’d at least need a tractor and then learn to drive it. I can barely handle towing my trailer. This wish rolled down the alley and disappeared into the gutter.

What about winning the lottery? That requires good luck and I think it is best to have no luck at all, avoiding the flipside of the luck coin.

And of course there is the Scottish proverb, “If wishes were horses beggars would ride.” I can relate to that, but I already have my dream horse.

I am grateful for what I have. Circumstances of birth gave me family, home, food, education. I have eyes to see, ears to hear, mouth to speak, hands to do, feet to walk. I have the luxury of horses in my life.

Both the pony and I are seniors. I no longer dream of mad gallops across fields but hope for a beach lope now and then. We traverse trails, weather permitting, practice in the ring for local shows. That is enough.

I am conscious that the years in front of us are few and, like senior discounts, I intend to take advantage of them!

Explore posts in the same categories: #besthorseintheworld, #smartesthorseintheworld, aging, Aging horseback rider, besthorseintheworld, Family, horses, Living in the moment, poetry of apaul, Responsible horse ownership, retirement, trail riding, Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a comment